Send Reviews to Reviews at Bicycle-stuff.comNames or E-mails will not be posted unless requested.

You don't have to write a paragraph.  One line comments are great..
When you send in a review, be sure to tell me which ride you are reviewing. I have no way to tell.
 

Bicyclestuff is not dying. So Far.......

 
http://www.bicycle-stuff.com/main/mainmenu.htm
 

Happy New Rear - McKinney, TX

January 1, 2017

It was raining when I arrived at Blue Ridge and I was a little concerned it would stay that way. However, it stopped raining about 15 minutes before the start and, except for a few sprinkles, it stayed that way throughout the ride. The temps stayed comfortable hovering around 60 and it was very pleasant. Bikin'Mike and his folks put together a great ride, as usual. Plenty of routes and hills to satisfy everyone. Great blackeyed peas, cornbread, rice, and cabbage for a treat afterwards! You couldn't ask for a better biking start to the new year!

 

January 1, 2016

What a difference a year makes! It was a chilly 35 degrees at the start, but thankfully, no torrential rains this time! Bikin' Mike and his crew did a great job this year (as usual). Everything ran smooth as clockwork. The route was fine with a decent workout on the hills. The black eyed peas and cornbread were fantastic! It's a great way to start the new year!

January 1, 2014

This was a great ride to kick off the new year. Parking was ample and packet and t-shirt pick up was easy. I rode the 40 mile route. The day was beautiful, albeit windy. The route was nice, with good roads (for the most part), light traffic, and some fun and challenging hills. I can't comment on the rest stops as I did the ride straight through. But the black eyed peas and cornbread at the end was yummy, though the portions could have been bigger, and the volunteers serving it were great. I will definitely do this ride again.

Another fun ride by Bikin' Mike and his crew! The morning started off cold and windy, but that wind was sure welcome as a tail wind on the way back. Loved the rural views. Plenty of hills to keep you challenged. Signage was great and the rest stops were well-stocked. The black eyed peas and cornbread were tasty! A very enjoyable time!

January 1, 2013

Another typical Bikin' Mike ride – well organized and fun! A special thanks to Mike and his volunteers for giving us this chance to start the new year out right! They're a great group!

 

January 1, 2012

I rode the 28 mile route in Blue Ridge, Texas. The Happy New Rear ride. Pretty good roads, really out in the country. Well organized and a great way to start the new year. I will do it again next year.

What a way to start the new year. Beautiful weather for January. Lots of hills but nothing really challenging. the usual north wind made for a great ride out of town and a little rough on the way back but only on the roade that went directly north. Some of the roads were so country we came across a large dog laying in the middle of the road. Being a very nice dog, he ignored us as we rode by.

Very nice ride again this year. Weather was beautiful. Chilly at start time but warmed up nicely. I rode the 40 mile route and directions were great. Roads were clean. Wind about 10 to 12 out of the north. Looked like there were more people this year than last few years. Yummy cornbread and black eyed peas to bring in the new year with good luck. Brought my personal "Mimosa" in my water bottle to celebrate myself during the ride. Challenging ride with some of the hills but that is what makes it along with the nice scenery. Thanks.

This was my first time doing the Happy New Rear. I did the 40 mile ride, and I thought the course was somewhat challenging with the hills and wind on the way back. I just really liked the atmosphere around the ride—the riders were friendly, the volunteers were helpful, there was a short welcome and pep talk before the ride and off we went. What a great way to ring in the new year!

January 1, 2011

Always a great ride. This was my 7th time to bring in the New Year with Bikin Mike. Flawless in every way. Beautiful scenery and spot on directions. Very friendly volunteers. Delicious Black Eyed Peas and Corn Bread after the ride to warm you up. This year the winds were not too bad, 10 - 15 mph out of the North that diminished some later in the day. Was very cold though, about 33 degrees at ride time which started at 10 am. I generally always celebrate with a Mimosa in one of my water bottles. Route was slightly different this year and I loved it. Thanks Mike and Happy Cycling to all.

This is a very nice ride. The mid-morning start is perfect. The route is mostly flat. It was great to have a post ride bowl of black eyed peas included with our registration. This was my third time for this ride.

 

January 1, 2010

An Awesome ride again. It gets better and better each year. Chilly as always this time or year and no better way to bring in the New Year than on your bike. Yummy black eyed peas and corn bread after the ride with southern hospitality. Mike you are the man.

This is my 3rd. HNR and the weather has been different each time. This year it was cold but there was no wind and the sun was out for the entire ride. It's ideally what you would expect for a ride on Jan. 1 in Texas. Mike puts on an excellent ride with a great route and awesome support. I love the pre-ride pep talk and the option to start anytime between 10AM and 11AM make it a convenient start no matter what your New Years Eve was like. A scenic route with very little traffic make it an ideal ride for all skill levels and the rest stops are well staffed and stocked. The black-eyed Peas and Cornbread in the warm Community Center at the end make it desirable to stick around after the ride. This ride will always be on my calendar.

January 1, 2009

I love this ride for its laid-back atmosphere. Great way to start the year! Easy to get to the start location. Pre registration ensures the latest edition of the great long sleeved tee shirts. Mike and his volunteers are so welcoming and made sure everyone was attended to quickly. No big bang start, just Mike on a car talking and telling us to be safe. No out of control speedsters or super serious folks that want to break the land speed record. Just a bunch of people that enjoy a friendly ride in the country. The ride is a little hilly, nothing too terrible, but combined with that crosswind, it became challenging just to hold your line. We did the 28 miler and enjoyed a relatively traffic free ride. The route back to the Community Center had more auto traffic than earlier in the day and there are always some nuts in cars that think we cyclists should stick to the sidewalks, but no worries. Wind seemed worse on the way back in, but that made the cornbread and black-eyed peas (cooked by Mike’s volunteer staff) that much more enjoyable. Overall a great ride and thanks to Mike, Mom and the crew for an enjoyable New Year’s day ride.

This is a nice ride - more people than what I expected. The course is hilly so be prepared. This year the wind was very strong from the South, which meant that the first 13 miles were torturous! The rest stop at mile 13 was disappointing - no food at all, only water and gatorade. It was in front of a convenience store so people were buying snacks there, as I did. After the stop the route headed back North so we had a tailwind which made it a lot easier. I did the 28 mile route so didn't see the other rest stop. Back at the start/finish the blackeyed peas and cornbread were good but the portions small. I would do this ride again but bring my own snacks - lol.

As usual, a great, low key ride to start out the new year. I did the long route and added the short route with the "big" hill for a 45 mile ride. A stiff wind from south made for a challenging first leg down to the first stop at Princeton and finish into Blue Ridge. Although the wind also made for a fast ride out of Princeston and New Hope. I was amazed at how much the chip seal on 545 into Blue Ridge had degraded since August. It definitely wasn't as bad as it could have been. Kudos to all the volunteers that braved the wind and cold to support the riders and Mike for putting on a fun ride.

As "rookie" I found this to be an enjoyable ride. To be with my wife and my son - both new to riding even on their own, we opted for the 13-miles - liked the hills! Everyone very friendly and the black-eye peas / cornbread was a nice touch at the finish. Hope to add more rides and distance in the future but a nice start to enjoying rides with others.

Thanks for putting this ride together. I had a great time riding the 28 mile route.
What little traffic we did see was very rider friendly.
Also, the cornbread and black eyed pear were delicious.
A great start to a New Year!

January 1, 2008

Great ride, adequate support for the distance; did the 28 mile route due to wind and hills. First part down 1377 was okay but a bit hilly for my taste. Going back north was rough due to wind. Routes were okay, mostly roads with little use. Definitely recommended. Register ahead of time if you want a shirt!

I rode the 38 mile route. I didn’t pre-register because I wasn’t sure I would be able to attend. No T-shirt, no promotional bag for walk ups. However, I was put on a waiting list for a T-shirt if there was a pre-register no show, and I did get one (the logo is great). The terrain was fine along the route, mostly flat with some mild hills. The road surface along FM 1377, at the beginning was rougher than the rest of route. There were moderate headwinds that made miles 22-30 taxing. Rest stop #1, at mile 13, was at a convenience store you had to go into. I didn’t so I don’t know what they offered. Rest stop #2, at mile 26, was more typical where you could pick up some goodies quickly and go. No signs along route only little white arrows painted on road and HNRR (Happy New Rear Ride)at turns but you had to look close for them. I was concerned I would miss an arrow and get off route. Back at start was I was given a little slice of corn bread and a spoonful of black eyed peas. They wanted to be sure they had enough for the 200 plus riders. Over all it was a good way to start the year.

I’m glad I showed up for this one… The last time I did this ride was a few years ago, when it started at the Youth Park… We started out at about 10:15 a.m., and for most parts, the roads had very little vehicle traffic. The temperature was not a big concern for me, since I warmed up nicely a few miles into the ride. Even on the way back, with the headwind, I felt quite comfortable. The wind, and the hills made for a nice challenge. Overall, I give this one high marks. Thanks again Bikin’ Mike… You and your team did a fine job. I’ll see you again in April, for what I consider to be the “Most Fun Ride of the Season” – Tour Dallas. I plan on being back next year for the next HNR ride.

Great ride as always. Bikin Mike does it right. Looking forward the 2009’s